Kilgore College Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Department
Ag Scholarships Available
About the Farm
Why Agriculture?
Farm History
Educational Affiliations
Careers through Agriculture
Stock Market
Bull Test Center
Angus Program
Ag Club
News Releases
Contact Information
Bull Test Dates/Info
Breed Codes

The Agricultural and Environmental Science Department offers various scholarships which are awarded in the spring.  Applications are available from Mr. Bob Young.  Completed applications should be returned to him no later than March 31. 


Leon Gibson FFA Scholarship

Established by Mrs. Leon Gibson and friends of Leon Gibson in the community.  Mr. Gibson's support and encouragement played a major role in the development of the Kilgore High School Future Farmers of America (FFA) program.  The scholarship award is restricted to a Kilgore High School graduate who has been an active member of FFA and who will be attending Kilgore College.  For further information, contact the Senior Counselor at Kilgore High School or the Director of at Kilgore College.


William E. Gipson Agriculture Scholarship

Through a generous endowment by distinguished alumnus William E. Gipson and Pogo Drilling Company, a semester's full tuition scholarship has been established for an incoming freshman majoring in agriculture or an agriculture-related field.  Based on character and scholastic aptitude.  Selected by the faculty.  Application deadline is April 1.


McMillan-Leverett Agricultural Scholarship

Named in memory of two close colleagues, physician Dr. Bruce McMillan and financier Donald B. Leverett.  Both individuals served on the Board of Trustees of Kilgore College and the Bruce McMillan, Jr. Foundation of Overton.  Both men were strong proponents of higher education in general and agricultural science in particular.  Funds are provided by the Bruce McMillan, Jr. Foundation, Inc.; selection of students and fund determination are conducted by Kilgore College.  Priority is given to recent qualified graduates from high schools in Rusk County and the Kilgore College District.  

An application form for the McMillan-Leverett Agricultural Scholarship may be requested from Bob Young at the Kilgore College Ag Farm.  Please call (903) 834-6255.  Or, click on the link below for Adobe Reader download. 

Don't have Adobe Reader to read PDF files? Click here to download.

When applying for the McMillan-Leverett Scholarship, please submit all materials requested in Item No. 5 of the criteria.  Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Peter James McNee, Sr. Scholarship

Established in 1996 in honor of Mr. McNee by his grandson.  Mr. McNee was a successful rancher and oilman from Rusk County who had an abiding interest in education and the young people of East Texas.  Recipients of the scholarship are determined by faculty recommendation, and are processed through the Kilgore College Foundation.

Sam Ross FFA Scholarship

Established in 1991 in honor of Mr. Sam Ross.  Mr. Ross had a great interest in students involved in farming and ranching activities.  The scholarship shall be awarded to Kilgore High School graduating seniors who are members of the Future Farmers of America (FFA) and will enroll in Kilgore College upon graduation from Kilgore High School.  Recipients of the award are selected by a scholarship committee.  Information may be obtained from the Director of .

Kilgore College Presidential Scholarship

One of the most prestigious academic scholarships offered by Kilgore College for all majors.  Recipients must attain a minimum 1000 SAT or 25 ACT and graduate in the top 10% of their class with a 92 or better average.  Must meet three of the four criteria.  Applications are sent to high school counselors in KC Service Area comprising about 25 school districts.  Students can also apply through the .  Covers tuition, registration fees, and use of books.

Jamie Rae Sterling Memorial Scholarship

 This scholarship was formerly known as the Kilgore College Agriculture Club Scholarship but in 1996 was renamed in memory of Jamie Rae Sterling.  Jamie was tragically killed in an auto accident in August 1996, only a month after her 21st birthday.  Additional funds have been graciously added to the scholarship by Bill and Patricia Sterling of Prosper, Texas in memory of their daughter, who at the time of her death was a promising student of agriculture at Kilgore College.

 The scholarship is available to second year KC agricultural students or any student who has completed two years as a KC agricultural student and is in the process of transferring to a senior college as an agricultural major.

Funds are generated by special contributions (the Sterling family) and proceeds from the sale of club projects by the KC Agriculture Club.  Applications are available from Bob Young  the KC agriculture instructor.  Phone number is (903) 834-6255.

 The Bob Young "Go Texan" Scholarships (3)

 These scholarships are named in honor of Kilgore College agriculture instructor Bob Young.  The funds have been generously donated by the Rusk County "Go Texan" Committee, an affiliate of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, which raises funds for student scholarships through participation in major service projects.  Mr. Young is an active member of the Committee.

These scholarships are granted annually to Kilgore College agriculture students entering their second year at the College, having completed their first academic year (fall and spring) with 24 semester hours of academic work with a minimum 2.5 GPA.  Each scholarship carries a $500 annual stipend.  Application can be requested from Bob Young, the KC agriculture instructor.  Phone number is (903) 834-6255.

Kilgore College Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Department
Bob Young, Ag Instructor and Farm Manager
Overton, TX  75684-2625
(903) 834-6255
(903) 834-6931  FAX
(903) 984-8531 Main Campus